R&D Center

The R&D cell is headed by Dr. Gopa Dutta

who herself is the principal investigator of projects in the field of Space Physics sponsored by Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO) and Department of Science and Technology (DST),Govt.of India.

Conceptual  teaching  along  with  Research  and  Development makes   the Institute  unique  and  provides  an  opportunity  to  produce competent and employable engineers with a broader outlook. VBIT has been following this novel model and exposing the students to the current technological and industrial trends.

Research activities in different fields are guided by the experts from Academic, Industry, and Research Institutions. Talks by such experts are also being arranged by respective Departments. The output from these developments is that, the in-house student projects are guided by the faculty, researchers and experts from industry. The faculty members are also trained in the current technological and research trends.

In  this  sojourn, VBIT  is  able  to  realize  the  environmental  improvement in a phased manner for the establishment of a  Research and Development Center. The R&D cell is headed by Dr. Gopa Dutta who herself is the principal investigator of projects in the field of Space Physics sponsored by Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO) and Department of Science and Technology (DST),Govt.of India.

Research & Development cell is forging ahead with a few more project proposals submitted to various agencies like DST, DBT and MOES for independent funding.


VBIT has  a recognized Ph. D. Centre under  JNTU (H). Three full time research scholars are pursuing their Ph. D. in  the center under the guidance of the Director, R & D. Two Research Projects sponsored by Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO) have just been completed with a few publications in high level journals. The projects are:

1). A campaign to investigate middle atmospheric structure and dynamics including exchange processes over Indian tropical region (8.5° N, 8.7° N, 13.5° N, 17.2° N), using  high  altitude  balloon  data,  radar  and  LIDAR  observations [~ 43 Lakhs].

2).  Long  term  trends  of  atmospheric  oscillations  and  their relationship with solar variability [~ 18 lakhs].

The Balloon flights required for the projects were carried out form the premises of VBIT which offered the students a unique opportunity to have some practical experience of such high level experiment. The balloon experiment program was inaugurated by professor S. Sathyanarayana, Vice Chancellor of Osmania University.

 “Stratosphere-Troposphere Coupling Through Observations of ozone and water Vapour: Transport effects on the Vertical Distribution of Ozone” by the Department of Science and Technology (DST), Government of India fir the next three years
Understanding the potential of research activity at VBIT, ISRO has installed a Mini Boundary Layer Mast  (MBLM) in the premises of the college. This facility was inaugurated by the former Vice Chancellor of JNTU (H) Dr.DN.Reddy.

The R&D center has collaborated with National Atmosphere Research Laboratory (NARL), Gadanki to conduct a joint study on “Ionospheric Delay of Satellite Signals Measured by GPS Receiver”. NARL has installed “Dual frequency receiver experiment” at the R&D center of VBIT.  B.Tech and M.Tech students of VBIT are taking up projects based on these facilities /data available at the College.

A unique CanSat program was conducted by the R&D center at the campus of the college during 2013-14. This program was the first of its kind in India. About 50 students from different branches of engineering participated in this design-build-launch program conducted in association with Dhruva space, Bangalore.

CanSat is a miniature soda can size satellite with basically two systems:

A payload and a re-entry container which protects the payload during the ascent. Students of VBIT built the payloads and flew them from the campus to a height of approximately 200 m.

The rate of ascent/descent was controlled by unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV).Atmospheric data were collected and analyzed by the students. CanSat programs are organized internationally by various organizations across the globe like American Astronomical Society (AAS) and American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA).
A National symposium “Current trends in Atmospheric Research including Communication And Navigation aspects (CARCAN-2012)” was organized jointly by R&D center and Department of ECE in the college premises during 21-22 December, 2012.

The Symposium was financially supported by DST, MoES, CSIR and ISRO, Govt. of India. Prof B.M.  Reddy, (Hon) Scientist of NGRI, Hyd ; INSA (Hon) Scientist and chairman, National ST radar committee inaugurated the conference.

Reputed scientists from length and breadth of the county presented invited and contributed papers to make the symposium a grand success. A book of abstracts and symposium proceedings with ISBN number were published before and after the symposium.

National Recognition has also been achieved by publishing a special issue of CSIR (SJR) journal “Indian Journal of Radio & Space Physics (IJRSP)” based on the deliberations in CARCAN -2012.

Incubation Center

Each Department in the Institute has established an Incubation Center. Students are encouraged to build the ideas and concepts in their respective areas of interest. Dedicated logistic support is available to nurture the creativity of the students. These Centers are designing and developing various working models round the year.

Research and Development Committee

The institution has a College Research Committee to monitor and address the issues of research. Following are the members of College Research Committee.

S. No.Name of the facultyDepartment
1.     Dr. N. Goutham raoChairman
2.     Dr.G.Amarender Rao, PrincipalME
3.     Dr.B.PrashantME
4.     Dr. J.Kulkarni, Vice PrincipalH&S
5.     Dr. Gopa Dutta, Director, R & DH&S
6.     Dr. D. Devendranath, Director, AcademicsEEE
7.     Dr. K NeelimaEEE
8.     Dr. Likith Kumar MVEEE
9.     Dr. S. N. V. GaneshEEE
10.  Dr. S.RajasekaranEEE
11.  Dr. JaganEEE
12.  Dr. B. Brahma ReddyECE
13.  Dr. Y SrinivasECE
14.  Dr. S. PothalaiahECE
15.  Dr. P V RaoECE
16.  Dr. Arti RengarajECE
17.  Dr. J. SaibabaECE
18.  Mr. T. V. Chandrashekar (Coordinator)ECE
19.  Dr. Pradeep Kumar MallickCSE
20.  Dr. Shruti MishraCSE
21.  Dr. K Srinivasa RaoCSE
22.  Dr. Dara RajuCSE
23.  Dr. G. SwamyCSE
24.  Dr. Sandeep SathapathyIT
25.  Dr. Ch S L N SridharH&S
26.  Dr. B. BapirajuH&S
27.  Dr. M. Anand RaoH&S
28.  Dr. K.V. DharmendraH&S
29.  Dr. K.Sirish KumarH&S
30.  Dr. Salauddin MohammadH&S
31.  Dr. B. ChandrasekharH&S
32.  Dr. A.VenkateswarluH&S
33.  Dr. A.Venkat YadavH&S
34.  Dr. S. V. RamanaMBA
35.  Dr. S. HarikrishnaMBA

R & D GUIDELINES – Click here to View 

521 (1)
Counselling Code

Hostel Facility is available both for Boys and Girls inside the college campus.Read More
Virtual Tour